Green Grass

I read this blog post today and it so rings true for my life. People often say to me, “I could never live there/learn a different language/put my kids in local school/whatever it is that seems totally crazy to them”. And I usually say, “of course you could. It may be challenging ( as it has been for me), but you could!” And I think this quote has a lot to do with it.

The grass is greenest where you water it.”

This quote adequately sums up why there is a contentment in my heart about this season of our lives and not just a contentment, but a joy! It is why I wanted to learn a hard language, and shop at the local places. It is why our kids go to the local school and I will spend hours trying to have a conversation where I am only going to understand maybe half of what is said. But I realize that if I don’t embrace life fully here, I will always want to be where the grass is “greener”. And I will miss out on the FULL life that is right in front of me if I am just willing to “water it”. For me, this “watering” has usually meant choosing the thing that is most outside of my comfort zone, and trusting my Father and just jumping in with both feet. It has meant that on those days I REALLY don’t want to leave my house, I need to put my shoes on, walk through my gate and fully embrace what is waiting for me on the other side. And I can promise you, it has been worth it, Every. Single. Time.

I am not saying that everyday is a joy ride full of life, laughter, and happiness. (Trust me, as of today I am going on day 2 of 5 home alone with the kids who are on vacation and I am definitely not having the victory.) But, life here is FULL and GREEN, and not because it is familiar and normal, but because it is hard and yet we choose to water it.

One comment

  1. Loved, loved, loved this! So very true that God will grant us strength to do what He calls us to do no matter where we are. When we are content in Christ, there is great joy. We can lose sight of things no matter where we are. God desires for us to always keep our eyes on heaven not on this earth – albeit beautiful!

    I’m not saying that I haven’t used any of those phrases for situations others have gone through that I cannot imagine going through. I too need to remember that no matter what the situation, God grants us strength for it. “I know how to get along with humble means, and I also know how to live in prosperity; in any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of being filled and going hungry, both of having abundance and suffering need. I can do all things through Him who strengthens me” (Phil 4:12-13, NASB)

Leave a Reply

