Barcelona

It’s been almost 2 weeks since we returned from Barcelona, I think it’s about time I posted some pictures.  We are so thankful that we have the opportunity to travel every once in awhile. When we first moved here, we had to leave the country every 3 months for Visa reasons, and while we don’t have to do that anymore, I still get that itch every 3 months to change surroundings, get a breath a fresh air, and then return refreshed. I count it a huge blessing and privilege to live overseas and among such wonderful people, but it can be stressful and exhausting and sometimes we just plain need a break. So I’m also thankful (again) for RyanAir for inexpensive flights, so we can travel as a family for relatively cheap.

Because this season of life can be so tiring with little kids, my motto is usually, “If what I’m going to do is more exhausting then just entertaining my kids at home, you will probably find me at home.” But somehow traveling with three littles has almost become easier then taking them to the park. Jay and I have become a well-oiled machine. It’s basically me and the kids, and Jay and the important documents. I don’t think I ever touch a passport when we travel. Honestly, I don’t trust myself. (I would probably set them down somewhere while I was telling Cole not to scale the counters in the airport and forget to pick them back up.)

We also rent an apartment in the city we are going to as opposed to a hotel room. Before we moved overseas, I had never heard of such a thing. But it is usually way cheaper, and way more convenient for a family of 5. The apartment we rented had 2 bedrooms, bathroom, a full kitchen and a living room. So we only ate out 2x, because I could cook everything at home and we could make sandwiches for our lunches when we were out and about. (the website we usually use is www.homeaway.com) I would encourage you to look up something like that the next time you are traveling! (there are places all over the US too!)

Anyway, onto the pictures. (If you follow me on instagram, some of these will look familiar!)

 We told the kids they had to ride in the luggage part of the bus from the airport into the city, and they believed us. 🙂Image

My Sweet girls. I’m planning on them always thinking I’m a cool. (at least I can pretend, right?!)

Image

McDonalds breakfast. You can say what you want, but there is no other breakfast like it.

Image

Movie Time! There is a movie theater that shows Original Version movies a couple of days a week!

Image

We tried to be as American as possible. 🙂 Dunkin Donuts.

Image

We went to the zoo, the aquarium, the science museum, but all my kids really wanted to do all day, everyday was chase/feed the pigeons. I was just waiting to get pooped on. Anyone else think birds are weird and gross?! Obviously not my kids.

Image

This picture pretty accurately describes my three. Hannah, aka. squishy face is always goofy and laughing. Lydia, aka. the responsible oldest is always making sure everyone is ok and obeying. Cole, aka. the eater is always hungry and begging for food. ALWAYS.

Image

 A boat picture for Uncle Joel.

Image

 Another Uncle Joel boat picture.

Image

Aquarium!

Image

Oh Jay and the sun fish. His new love.

Image

We are not normal. It’s what happens when your dad is awesome and creative.

Image Image

(I put this on instagram, so sorry if you’re reading it again) I really toiled over which kind of mom I wanted to be when traveling. Did I want to be the chic, boot-wearing European mom, or the sporty, practical “i’mgoingtobechasingthreekidsaround” tennis shoe kind of mom?! I brought both, and let’s just say I wore my boots once and thought I was going to die. My feet and back hurt so bad. I have never been more proud to be a tennis shoe wearing, non-trendy mom. That whole fashion over comfort thing is way overrated in my book. 🙂

ImageImage

Who knew that a swing set could bring so much joy?! to both the kids swinging, and the parents sitting on a bench drinking Starbucks.

Image

One of the coolest things we saw. Every Sunday afternoon, this orchestra performs outside of one of the main cathedrals, and the crowds of people form circles, join hands and start dancing traditional spanish dances. It was amazing.

ImageThank you Barcelona for giving this crazy family some relaxation and fun!

Leave a Reply

